You aren’t afraid of color, are you?

Naomi-Okubo61-500x611NAOMI-OKUBO-03NAOMI-OKUBO-01NAOMI-OKUBO-05NAOMI-OKUBO-10Naomi-Okubo15-500x696

Naomi Okubo (°1985) is a Tokyo based painter who makes colorful paintings and stunning self-portraits hiding her face. Google her name, view the “image” results, and the colors pop off your screen! What an artist!

Artist statement: “The ideas for my work come from an inferiority complex and my experiences in adolescence. As an adolescent, everyone starts to care about how other people think of their appearances. In my personal experiences, when I changed my own image, people changed their attitude toward me. They started to concern me, and our relationship became better. I also realized the power of fashion and the fear of other’s watchful eyes. I have been interested in appearances ever since.”

Leave a Reply

